Association of municipalities in the Capital area, Samtök sveitarfélaga á höfuðborgarsvæðinu (SSH) is a collective body for all the municipalities surrounding the capital of Reykjavík. It was founded in 1976. This is the district which has seen the most development and progress during the past decades. Reykjavík was the original place of settlement and has the 18th century been been the country's centre of industry, culture and administration. The district is a cross between urban and rural areas with a variation of industries, commerce and services. This variety offers ample possibilities for recreational and cultural activities.


There are eight municipalities in the area with a population of 196,000 people in total, which accounts for 62,5 percent of the Icelandic population. Six out of ten of the country's largest municipalities are in the district including Reykjavík, Kópavogur and Hafnarfjörður which have the largest populations.

Economic life

The centre of economic life is situated in the greater Reykjavík area , including administration,commerce, services, industries, transport, aviation and communication. Two out of the three largest import/export ports are situated in Reykjavík and Hafnarfjörður. The main cultural and educational institutions are situated within the area.


The greater Reykjavík area functions as the centre of tourism in Iceland housing all the largest companies in the business such as travel agencies, the largest hotels, airlines and shipping companies. It also acts as the centre for marketing and development in the business. Collaboration between the municipalities. Association of municipalities in the greater Reykjavík area is a collective body aiming to work on and safeguard common interests, such as transportation and planning.


Further information can be obtained from the main office:

Hamraborg 9

IS-200 Kopavogur


tel.: +354 564-1788

E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.